top of page
  • Writer's pictureMary Ann

19 of Our Favorite Country Releases of 2019

Riley Green, Different 'Round Here

Riley Green made his full-length debut with Different 'Round Here. Highlighting his Southern roots and relatability, Green co-wrote each track offering a perspective Rolling Stone Country describes as "Drinks-in-the-air Nineties country at an Alabama vs. Auburn tailgate." He recorded DIFFERENT ROUND HERE alongside producer Dann Huff and executive producer Jimmy Harnen.

Jameson Rodgers, Some Girls

Batesville, Mississippi, singer-songwriter Jameson Rodgers released single, "Some Girls," written by top tunesmiths Michael Hardy, Jake Mitchell, and C.J. Solar. Rodgers has also earned a few top-shelf songwriter credits of his own, penning Florida Georgia Line’s “Talk You Out Of It,” and Chris Lane’s “I Don’t Know About You.”

Brooks & Dunn, Reboot

Reboot, is the eleventh studio album by American country music duo Brooks & Dunn. The album, released on April 5, 2019, features re-recorded versions of 12 of the duo's songs, done as duets with other country music artists. Reboot was produced by Dann Huff.

Maddie & Tae, One Heart to Another

Platinum-selling duo Maddie & Tae released their eagerly-awaited new EP One Heart To Another. Featuring five tracks, predominantly co-written by Maddie & Tae’s Maddie Marlow and Taylor Dye, and produced by Jimmy Robbins and Derek Wells, the highly-anticipated project represents stories of love, loss and redemption.

Gabby Barrett - I Hope

“American Idol” Alum, Gabby Barrett released her new single, “I Hope,” this year. The song, written by Gabby, Jon Nite, and Zachary Kale, has the powerful vocalist singing about about getting payback on an ex, hoping she cheats on him like he did on her.

Thomas Rhett, Center Point Road

Thomas Rhett's fourth studio album named Center Point Road gets its name from a street in Rhett's hometown "that shaped and influenced much of his life experiences," a press release explains. The country superstar will hit the road beginning in May for his 2020 the Center Point Road Tour.

Sister Hazel, Fire

Fire can keep you warm, or it can do great destruction. The fire element is one of spontaneity, inspiration, passion, and motivation. Sister Hazel's widely anticipated six-track EP, Fire, delivers just that. “Sister Hazel sizzles with the third installment of their four part anthology EP collection, Fire. From the bone chilling opening of "It isn't always written in the stars; sometimes it's written on the back of old guitars" from 'Every Heartbreak' to the powerful and honest "On and On" to the strong country elements of "Fire," Sister Hazel brings a new level of range and complexity to their sound,” said Mark Leon of the Charleston Daily.

Tracy Lawrence, Made In America

Country music legend, Tracy Lawrence, released his first original studio album in six years, Made In America. The country star has been a driving force in the music industry for over 25 years and is a mainstay with traditional and contemporary country fans alike with Made In America certainly keeping pace. Made In America pays homage to the tried and true examples of what make the hard-working men and women of America stand tall and proud. The album harkens back to the authentic sound of country music with Lawrence’s mixture of rock and blues, and by penning 8 of the 12 tracks himself, this album is one of his most relatable to date.

Caroline Jones, Chasin' Me

Caroline Jones released her highly-anticipated EP Chasin’ Me, of which she penned every track except for “All of the Boys,” co-written with mentor Zac Brown, and “Gulf Coast Girl,” written for her by celebrated music icons Jimmy Buffett and Mac McAnally.

Jon Pardi, Heartache Medication

Jon Pardi released his third album and hews to a more traditional country sound with fiddle, steel guitar and twangy electric guitar. This is the follow-up to his hits laden "California Sunrise."

Miranda Lambert, Wildcard

Mirana Lambert released her seventh studio album featuring songs "It All Comes Out in the Wash," "Locomotive," "Mess with My Head" and "Bluebird."

Jenna Paulette, Modern Cowgirl: Vol. 1

Jenna dropped her first EP, and it’s everything we hoped for and more. She fills us up with her iconic New West” style that blends traditional country music storytelling with pedal steel guitar, pop beats, and her passion for the western lifestyle.

Luke Combs, What You See Is What You Get

Luke Combs released his second full-length EP. Produced by Scott Moffatt, What You See Is What You Get features 17 songs, including the five tracks previously released on Luke’s recent EP, The Prequel. The new album also includes featured artists Eric Church on “Does to Me” and Brooks & Dunn on “1, 2 Many.”

Cale Dodds, "I Like Where This Is Going"

Columbus, Georgia native Cale Dodds penned "I Like Where This Is Going" alongside late producer busbee and award-winning songwriter Nicolle Galyon this year. “It’s the feeling of suspense, like the last song at prom before the lights come up or the moment before dropping a girl off after a first date, not knowing what’s going to happen next. There’s a beauty in the uncertainty of what’s going to happen, while having faith that it’s going to unfold in the right way. Nicole and busbee helped me guide the ship on this song and really helped bring my vision to life in the writer’s room. If four out of five first dates are awkward… this is the one you’ve been waiting on,”Dodds said.

Cody Johnson, Ain't Nothin' To It

Cody Johnson's studio album, Ain't Nothin' to It, debuted at No. 1 on Billboard's Top Country Albums chart. The album is his first release for theWarner Music, after six independent album releases.

Maren Morris, Girl

Released in March, Girl, is the second major label studio album by Maren Morris.

Sarah Ross, Nervous Breakdown

Sarah Ross released her highly anticipated full length album, "Nervous Breakdown." The album features tracks like the popular "Shotgun," "Calm Before The Storm," as well as new tracks like "Golden Ticket," "Daddy Issues," and a remix of "Shotgun" featuring Colt Ford.

Sandra Lynn, Lose the War (Remix Produced by DJ Morgan Page)

"Lose the War," continues the second chapter of a musical chronicle that Lynn kicked off with her Fight EP last year. The remix maintains the song's narrative with Page explaining, "The original story holds true, it's just dressed in a different jacket with a faster tempo and more emphasis on a 4/4 beat. The lyrics were universal enough that they carry-over to a dance track." 

Runaway June, Buy My Own Drinks

Released in June, Blue Roses is the debut album of American country music group Runaway June. "Buy My Own Drinks" was released as its debut single and reached the top 20 of the Billboard Country Airplay charts, making it the first time a female group or trio had done so in 14 years!


bottom of page